Board of Directors

Susan Vanagas-Cote

Chair (2023-Present), Vice Chair (2022-2023), (2021 – 2022)

Susan Vanagas-Cote is a recently retired health care professional and administrator, beginning her career as a Speech-Language Pathologist and then serving as Executive Director for THRIVE Child Development Centre for 19 years.

Dr. Ed Hirvi

Vice Chair, (2023-Present), (2022 – 2023)

Dr. Edward Hirvi is a Family Physician and VP of Clinical Operations with Algoma District Medical Group. He is an Associate Professor and Family Medicine Section Chair at NOSM University.

Dr. Hirvi is Past-President of the Physician Clinical Teachers’ Association and Co-Chair of the Northern Ontario Academic Medical Association Board of Directors. He is also a member of the Foundation for Medical Practice Education Board of Directors, the Association of Canadian Chairs of Family Medicine, and President of the Sault Ste. Marie Academic Medical Association.

In 2021, Dr. Hirvi was awarded the Canadian Association for Medical Education Certificate of Merit Award. His professional interests include medical education, geriatrics, long-term care, and health informatics. 

Aaron Evans

Secretary/Treasurer (2020 – Present)

Aaron Evans is a Chartered Professional Accountant working at Algoma Steel as a Controller and General Manager of Information Technology.  Mr. Evans also teaches some courses at Algoma University and has been the Treasurer of the Sault Ste. Marie United Way for many years.  Mr. Evans has over 20 years of experience in various Accounting and IT roles, including significant leadership accountabilities in his current position at Algoma Steel.

Brenda Stenta

(2023 – Present)

Lil Silvano

GHC President & Chief Executive Officer (2022 – Present)

Ms. Liliana (Lil) Silvano is an accomplished executive who has held a number of senior leadership positions over the past two decades. A native of Sault Ste. Marie, Lil joined the Group Health Centre (GHC) in 2022 as President & CEO.

As a Chartered Accountant, Lil started her career in the public sector at the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation (OLG), where over ten years, she gained progressive management experience in multiple roles.

After a decade of corporate leadership experience, Lil transitioned to the Health Care sector. Lil spent the last nine years in various senior executive leadership roles at Sault Area Hospital (SAH), culminating with Lil serving as SAH’s Vice President and Chief Financial Officer.

Dr. Jodie Stewart

(2019 – Present) 

Dr. Jodie Stewart is a family medicine physician at the Group Health Centre (GHC).

Dr. Stewart also serves as the Chief Executive Officer and Board Chair of the Algoma District Medical Group (ADMG).

Bill Thornton

(2020 – Present)

Bill Thornton retired from the Ontario Public Service in May 2019 as Deputy Minister for the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry and for the Northern Development and Mines portfolio of the Ministry of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, representing the Ontario government in numerous business restructuring and insolvency proceedings and providing oversight of several northern economic initiatives. 

Mr. Thornton has a Bachelor of Science in Forestry from the University of New Brunswick and a Masters of Business Administration from Dalhousie University. 

Dr. Jonathan DellaVedova

(2022 – Present)

Dr. Jonathan DellaVedova is a Pediatrician at the Group Health Centre (GHC), the Chief of Pediatric & Neonatal Services at Sault Area Hospital, and an Associate Professor at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine.

Dr. DellaVedova completed medical school as a member of NOSM’s charter class and residency at the McMaster Children’s Hospital. He formerly served as the President of the Professional Association of Residents of Ontario and on the Board of the Canadian Medical Association. He is also a member of the Algoma District Medical Group.

Dr. Joseph Reich

(2022 – Present)

Dr. Joseph Reich is a General Surgeon in Sault Ste. Marie, practicing at Group Health Centre (GHC) the entirety of his career, for 23 years. He completed Medical School at Queen’s University and General Surgery residency in Halifax.

He has also been the Medical Director of Surgery at Sault Area Hospital since 2006, Board Member for the Algoma District Medical Group (ADMG) since 2015 and Medical Director of Endoscopy OHPIP at GHC since 2016.